Hunter and the Hunted

A couple of years back, I was hunting for a job. I was really lucky. Nobody had heard of recession except maybe the well read who may ve read about the Great Depression. Campus recruitments happened in the bulk then and almost everyone in the batch (or the Class of 2008 as they say it during the Convocations) bagged a decent offer. Interviews were a nightmare for me. I managed to scrape through somehow after repeated efforts thanks to my Super(read pathetic) programming and analytical skills.

Fast forward: A year and a half later, I was interviewed by some gentleman sitting in the US of A. This time around, my job was on the line. A NO from that gentleman meant I could be laid off any moment thanks to the bad condition of the market. The answer happened to be a NO. Which meant, the hunt started all over. I was lucky again.

Fast Forward September 2009: The company I m working for decided to expand the team. This time around, there has been a slight change of roles. I sit at the interviewer’s seat. One of the many roles I ve taken while being here. Now, I kinda know what an interviewer expects. Not exactly, but still.

I was hunted or rather shot with lots of tough questions. Now, I am a hunter.

A few lessons I learned(I ll use bulet styling going by the current trend on a lot of blogs these days. As I ve been maintaining all the time, my creativity sucks)

  • DO NOT forget the basics. It doesnt matter if you know what “the curve formed by plotting (tan x)(1+ x^2)/(x^2 + cosec xy)” is if you do not know that 1 + 1 = 2 (This was the simplest example I could come up with. :P)
  • Not being selected doesnt mean that you re not good. It just means that you were not suitable for the position. There may be better things waiting for you, like I found out after not being selected by that gentleman in the US of A for the opening in that particular project
  • Do not lose heart if you are not selected. Try hard and come back harder.
  • If nothing works for you. Refer bullet no.1.

One last question before I sign off for now. Are my posts getting lamer?

About milcom
A software developer by profession, Milcom is a football lover and considers music as his religion. While he is not working, he likes reading blogs, listening to music, reading novels or simply sitting idle, in which he is a world champion.

11 Responses to Hunter and the Hunted

  1. RaWMaN says:

    good post man, quite inspiring..keep up the good work! \m/

  2. sreek says:

    Yes man, your posts are gettin a lil ,protagonist !! … good one though…watever u v said there is true..e..

  3. Vidhyaa says:

    Here comes our software engineer. πŸ˜›

  4. Ramani says:

    hahaha… this happened even to me… if you are not selected, then the interviewer was not good enough to understand you.. πŸ˜€

    and no matter what you know, if you tell them that you know everything under the sky you ll end up not getting that job… atleast when i am in the other side… πŸ˜›

  5. priya says:

    Ooh!! No no, your posts are getting better, really πŸ™‚
    @airr told me that he was questioned about Thevenin’s Theorem recently! [when I tweeted about how the theorem was such a waste and preferred using Kirchoff’s Laws instead] 😐

  6. Farting Pen says:

    The Point 4 was revelation. In the true sense. It’s strange that we all forget how we learnt to walk the moment we learn how to run.

Leave a Reply

