Barberians to Conquerors : The Makeover

Once upon a time, when I was still a kid,as opposed to an uncle,Β  I used to visit a place called “Barber Shop”, every month. I was taken to the place by my dad to make me look human(That the particular style was called by the name Monkey Crop is another thing altogether). This continued till I was old enough to head out of the house alone.

The style didn’t change for a long time. Every one who went to the Barber got the same style haircut. It was all about having the hair short and not about styles. At least, so I believed.

All of a sudden, a new style came about. Everyone was talking about it. Something called the Mushroom Cut. The hair was cut in such a way that the head looked like a button mushroom. I still stuck to the normal monkey crop, just that I asked the barber to leave some hair longer in the front so that it just did not look like a monkey’s head anymore. The barbers still did their business from Barber shops, the names of which were slowly being replaced with <Insert Fancy Name> SaloOn. The other services offered were Dyeing and the use of some machine, which blew hot air(also known as Hair Dryer). And at 50 bucks, the use of that machine after dyeing was the most expensive item on the list.

Slowly, the name changed from saloOns to Men’s Beauty Parlour. They did the same stuff there. Just that the cheapest item on the menu was 50 bucks. And yes, not to forget the different styles of haircut they offered.

My hairstyle preferences changed too. It was either long or short. When I wanted my hair to be long, I gave the monthly visits a miss for the next 3-4 months(in the worst case, it was a year and half) and when I did want it to be short, I made a visit.

Before I forget, the barber shop back in my hometown still remained one. And the best thing about the place was that it was the hub to get all the latest local news. He also doubled up as a property dealer. I digress.

Finally, all these gave way to the Unisex Salon. I still wonder what is so Unisex about it. Men’s hair is cut by the guy beautician. And ladies’ beauty needs are taken care of, by lady beautician. They needed a way to project gender equality and this was the best thing they could come up with. There was a lot of items to choose from. Apart from haircuts, they also provided some new services like spreading cake dough on the face and spreading a salad on the eyes. Aah yes. Applying bleaching powder too!

At this rate, they’ll soon take over the world.

Meanwhile, yours truly made the visit to a Unisex Salon today. All I asked for was a regular haircut. The beautician’s expression changed from Santham to Athbutham to Bheebhalsam. He expected me to get a haircut, shave, a head massage and a facial done. Meh.

About milcom
A software developer by profession, Milcom is a football lover and considers music as his religion. While he is not working, he likes reading blogs, listening to music, reading novels or simply sitting idle, in which he is a world champion.

6 Responses to Barberians to Conquerors : The Makeover

  1. Varun says:

    for toddlers who didn’t quite understand the word ‘barber shop’, it used to be called ‘tak tak’ reminding the poor kid of the sound of the scissors. That was 20yrs back. These days toddlers are informed enough to ape Torres or Beckham..

    So, tak tak done eh? :p

  2. Arnab Das says:

    this was an awesome post.

    does feel like a long time those days when dad used to take me to the saloons etc. i still get simple haircuts to the annoyance of the barbers πŸ™‚

    • milcom says:

      I know right! Which is precisely what I meant when I talked about the guy’s changing expressions. What do they expect from me? 1000 bucks to ‘lighten’ my skin. Right!

  3. Sachin Anand says:

    I like the link “Santham to Athbutham to Bheebhalsam” btw… nice facial expressions. tough one to copy though. if your barber did manage to copy them .. he is surely in wrong profession… πŸ™‚

  4. sreek says:

    thankfully we still have barber shops in bangalore and not saloons !! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

