Bright Dim Loud Quiet

Right, Diwali is round the corner. Ok, not too close, but just more than a week to go. And I am excited or what?! First Diwali at home in about 6 years. The last time I celebrated Diwali at home, Sun TV was still showing Baasha for the first time in Indian television history for the 25th time.(I think I hold the record for having watched it 25 times)

What I am wondering about now is how people mistake Rajinikanth for Chuck Norris. Did Chuck Norris apply for a name change? How else is that even possible? Recycling seems to be the theme for this Diwali. Everything from paper to plastic to jokes are being recycled. Btw, did you know that Chuck Norris’ email id is gmail@chucknorris.com? Thanks for appreciating my genuine effort at making a joke.

This year, I am saying no to crackers. The last 6 years, I haven’t burst any, but being at home and not bursting crackers is a first. This is a conscious effort because I don’t want to contribute to 1. Pollution. 2. Child labour. I know that an effort from me alone is not going to do anything major to the landscape, but I am doing it for my own satisfaction. Just like I rant on this blog even when I know that this is not going to change the world or no one in their right senses give a heck about what I write.

How many of you do NOT burst crackers during Diwali? And in that, how many of you enjoyed the Commonwealth Games and the opening/closing ceremonies. Tell you what, If you answered “YES” to both, you are a hypocrite. Both contributed equally to all that is wrong. Anyway, you are on your way to attaining inheritance of the earth. For a wise man once said, “The Hypocrites shall inherit the earth”.

And if you don’t agree with my point of view about Diwali, hypocrisy etc you are not Indians. You are all part of a corporate conspiracy to keep the backward in that condition itself.Ā  I didn’t say this. Arundhati Roy did.

And oh, I hope the below poverty line employees working with our national carrier do not go on strike this week and get my flight cancelled.

Happy Diwali everyone. Those bursting the crackers, please take the necessary safety precautions. Those who aren’t eat and drink and be happy.

About milcom
A software developer by profession, Milcom is a football lover and considers music as his religion. While he is not working, he likes reading blogs, listening to music, reading novels or simply sitting idle, in which he is a world champion.

7 Responses to Bright Dim Loud Quiet

  1. adee says:

    First, i made this decision long before Delhi govt. made it fashionable (sort of).

    Second, i didn’t like the excessive use of fireworks at both Delhi CWG and IPL, while they claimed to be ‘green’ games.

    Third, Arundhati Roy is amongst the prime members in the club of corporate hypocrites.

    • milcom says:

      I was still a kid when I last celebrated Diwali at home. I hadn’t seen anything of the world and didn’t know how it was outside. Didn’t know the Delhi govt made it a fashionable campaign.

      IPL, CWG organizers are all hypocrites. They do everything against the laws and then seek protection from it, using the people who are the lawmakers.

      I disagree with most of what Ms Roy says. And yes, she is among the top-10 hypocrites in the country

  2. Aska says:

    Good one!

    I’m doing a cracker-free diwali too. Eat, drink and be happy šŸ˜€

    Oh, and if ‘home’ means Chennai, gimme a shout. šŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Bright-Dim-Loud-Quiet Ā« A Level Headed Idiot's Blog -- Topsy.com

  4. Appy says:

    Same sentiments on the inane Rajinikanth jokes.. Sigh!
    Btw.. looks like an overdoes of Arundathi has caused some mental trauma.. šŸ˜€ Take a chill pill!!

Leave a Reply

