Flying home. Back again.

Before you begin to wonder where I got that time from, it is the modified chorus of an Iron Maiden song, Coming Home, from their latest album The Final Frontier. I would recommend that you check it out and see if they are indeed the Iron Maiden of old. I feel this is a good album, but there are a lot of them who think otherwise.

Now, Ive been flying quite a lot these days. Not because I am filthy rich, but that is the only way that I can spend about 7 and a half days of a 9 day vacation at home, instead of four and a half days if I travel by train both ways. Given a lot of time and a choice between flights and trains, I would choose the latter. Here is why.

Trains can be late. But flights can be canceled : I flew home on a Friday. On Saturday, I saw the passengers, guests I should say, protesting at the airport because the flight had not taken off, even by the time it should’ve reached the destination. Reason? Shortage of cabin crew. Now, if it was a shortage of pilot/co-pilot, it is an issue, but what the hell do the others do anyway? Except of course, serve food. Which brings me to another reason.

You can get at least some biscuits at railway stations, they didn’t have anything to eat in the flight! : You can read that again. While flying back, I had planned to not eat anything at the airport and spend some bucks on some stale sandwich on the flight, the low cost variety(the flight, not the sandwich!). When the air hostess and the air host came near me, I asked them if they had anything to eat. What did I get as a reply? Cashew nuts! For the first time in my life, I had nothing except a glass of water on the flight. Thankfully, that was free.  And did I mention that they pushed that huge trolley all along? On top of it were 2 flasks, a few sachets of dairy whitener, tea bags, sugar and of course, cashew nuts.  This also meant that they asked people who wanted to use the toilet wait that extra bit till they were done.

Flight does take you to a place quick enough, but it gives you so little time to enjoy the journey. On a train journey, you can read a book, gaze through the window and take in nature at its best(not when the train is moving through an underdeveloped part of the country early in the morning, if you do not want to go “Eww”. I agree, it is all because of lack of education and all that, but it is not a sight you want to take in). The sound of the train moving on a track is almost the same, except for the rhythm and it is quite pleasant. Unlike the loud growls that a flight makes. And the older the aircraft, the worse.

Sigh.

And if you are reading this line, please go to the bottom of the page and visit my flickr stream too. I plan to take photography, however n00bish it may be, a bit more seriously. Hoping to have some fun.

CLT :  Porcupine Tree – Trains

About milcom
A software developer by profession, Milcom is a football lover and considers music as his religion. While he is not working, he likes reading blogs, listening to music, reading novels or simply sitting idle, in which he is a world champion.

3 Responses to Flying home. Back again.

  1. Ramani says:

    How come you took the picture of rail bridge when you have traveled in flight??… 😛

  2. Varun Shridhar says:

    Deep vein thrombosis never affected anyone as much as the flight crew. They excite you or inspire you enough to hate your own life.

Leave a Reply

