Immortals of Meluha

Just done with this book. I had been hearing very rave reviews for a long time now and wanted to check out the book. However, I went on a pilgrimage to Middle Earth and returned only a couple of weeks back and finally laid my hands on this one.

When I was at Rishikesh earlier this year and clicked this, I had wondered whether the man/God people worshipped as the Mahadev, the destroyer of evil etc was indeed some tribal chief who lived in those regions a few millenia ago. This is almost the concept in the book as well. A man who is brought to the land by its rulers, blinded by faith, yet that faith helps them conquer what they perceived as evil. As also the portrayal of Ram as the king who ruled the masses so well, yet had shortcomings in the way some systems like the physically challenged being kept away, mating to produce offsprings of the society than one’s own etc.

What I liked about the book is that it is written in such a simple, yet elegant style that I found it hard to put the book down (although I had to keep off it for about a week due to a very hectic schedule). And the way mythology is combined so brilliantly with history.

And finally, the message that comes at the end of the book. We are all shades of gray. No one is good nor evil.

PS : Flickr page pimping done

PPS : I hope some internet Hindus stumble upon this post and cause an outrage. The traffic on this blog has been pretty low these days.

About milcom
A software developer by profession, Milcom is a football lover and considers music as his religion. While he is not working, he likes reading blogs, listening to music, reading novels or simply sitting idle, in which he is a world champion.

3 Responses to Immortals of Meluha

  1. Nandu says:

    And I think I should get a copy once I am done reading the current book. 🙂

  2. Sudhamshu says:

    1. Please mention the author. (I’m too lazy to search!)
    2. Flickr page pimping unsuccessful. It goes somewhere else! (An extra http:// in there)
    3. Book sounds interesting. Will try to get my hands on it :).

    • milcom says:

      1. The author’s name is Amish. He is on twitter and his handle is @amisht
      2. Broken link fixed
      3. Don’t expect too much suspense from the book, but I liked the narration.

Leave a Reply

