#SameSeat

I travelled with my mom from New Delhi to Trivandrum on Indigo 6E 315 on 2nd October, 2011. After asking for our choice, we were allotted seat numbers 11B and 11C. I prefer aisle to window and I wanted to be seated towards the middle of the aircraft rather than at the extremes. The boarding announcements were clear. So far, so good. Once aboard, we moved towards our seats to find out someone already seated there. On asking him to show his boarding pass, we saw that he had also been allotted 11C! We brought it to the notice of the cabin crew who contacted the ground staff. I was asked to move to 30B, which is at the rear end of the aircraft. I told them that I wanted to be seated near my mom because she wasn’t familiar with air travel. As a result, we were allotted 30E and 30F, the last two seats of the aircraft. With no push back options with the seats and sleep deprived, we had to go through hell over our 4 hour journey.

Being not in a mood to argue with them, I politely accepted the offer they made.

Thinking back, I feel that they made a grave error. How could they allot the same seat to two passengers? Who designed that software? Has he never heard of the word “transaction”? Do they realize that it is a severe flaw in the system?

Importantly, do they realize that they need to take corrective measures? I hope they read this post and do just that. I hope those of you who do read this, spread it around so that some one from their management reads this.

PS : I posted the seat numbers, flight number and date to ensure that they have enough data to see what went wrong. Who knows, the developer who wrote the application may not have put in the code to log seat allotments!

About milcom
A software developer by profession, Milcom is a football lover and considers music as his religion. While he is not working, he likes reading blogs, listening to music, reading novels or simply sitting idle, in which he is a world champion.

4 Responses to #SameSeat

  1. Surprising. Always thought Indigo was the best of the low-cost carriers. Hopefully they will read this and make it up to you.

  2. Priya says:

    Rare end seats are the worst!! You should have complained / brought the issue to their notice after landing at least. I’ve gone through some inconvenient situations while traveling too and have always brought it to their notice by expressing my dissatisfaction with their service. The folks checking the passengers in are pretty careless sometimes – lost in their own world.

    • milcom says:

      I was just not in a position to register my dissatisfaction then and there. Even if I did, it would just have been shrugged off as a one-off incident by them and the same would’ve continued to happen again with others.

      It’s a shame though. I think it’s the problem with their software. Not much that the check-in staff can do if the system shows a particular seat as available when it isn’t.

  3. vidhyaa12 says:

    I didn’t know that rear end seats can’t be pushed back for extra comfort ! May be that’s the case everywhere. I deliberately chose seats at the back for all my flights last week as it’s usually a little quieter in that area but I couldn’t sleep at all in my red eye flights.

    That apart, it’s sad that they inconvenienced you twice (no seat + bad seat). Hope they give you some kind of compensation for that flight.

Leave a Reply

