#treadmilcom : Fun hashtag, (not so) serious business

3 years back, I went home for a small vacation and my parents were shocked to see me. I was a mess with a bulging waistline, wobbling biceps, not to mention pants which were loose a few months back going very tight. I wasn’t realizing the spiral I was being sucked into. I never thought that someone who was underweight in school and college would gain so much weight and become a potato. I had gained 14 kg over 5 months. The realization dawned finally one fine morning when I had to carry something heavy and I started panting after about 50m.

It started with joining a roommate on his daily walks. 10 rounds of walking along the pavement inside the park. That would roughly be about 2.5-3km. We would do it intermittently, going one day and skipping another 2-3 days. However, the important part was that we were getting more workout than usual. I also cut down on my snacking habits. Going down from 250g of moong daal a day to 100g a day. The progress started showing in the way I started feeling healthier. Very soon, I was doing an extra 1.5km every day in the form of walking back from the shared auto drop point to my apartment. In the next 3-4 months, I shed 8 kgs, felt slimmer and fitter.

Somewhere in between, I also started mixing up my morning walks with some light runs as well. I would usually do 4-5 rounds of running in the 10 rounds that I used to do around the park. I started getting bored of the same trail and same faces at the same time every day. That is when I decided that I needed to hit the road. This happened only a year and a half back because I was still very irregular and would probably have been doing 12km a week, including the walks back in the evening.

All in all, I was getting some activity done, even though it was sporadic. In the meantime, my workplace got a gym in place and I happened to read a blog post by one of my favorite bloggers about the Couch 2 5k plan. Doing a bit of research showed me that it’s a hugely successful concept.

The story didn’t end there. Since I was running regularly by now, I decided to start from week 4 of the plan. I was stuck on week 4 forever though. I just didn’t have the mental strength to do week 5 where the 3rd run is a full 20 minutes without any walking breaks.

I went to Sweden in between. I also got engaged and took a pretty long break from work which meant that I was simply hogging away and not moving my ass.

I gained 4 kg in 2 weeks due to all the beef and pork and I was afraid of the downward spiral again.

Once I got back from vacation, I resumed with week 4 for a week. This week, I did all the 3 runs of week 5, including that dreaded 20 minute mini marathon. I felt really proud after that. I would like to take this journey all the way to the finish and further.

To track my progress, I have also come up with a new hashtag #treadmilcom because I started doing the program on the treadmill and then started hitting the road, once I got a decent pair of running shoes. I intend to keep everyone updated about the progress through this hashtag and who knows, it could even become a movement of sorts to convince my friends to take up running(by friends, I mean everyone interested).

PS : I slyly added two important events in my life

PPS : I also received a new Android phone as a gift which has helped me track my pace.

PPPS : Please cheer me up on this journey, no?

About milcom
A software developer by profession, Milcom is a football lover and considers music as his religion. While he is not working, he likes reading blogs, listening to music, reading novels or simply sitting idle, in which he is a world champion.

5 Responses to #treadmilcom : Fun hashtag, (not so) serious business

  1. Yamini says:

    Loved this post Vv!!! Working out is exhilarating and really keeps you up and about 🙂

  2. dILEEP says:

    Dude.. got to get back to Working out, thanks for the reminder.. i am starting to put on weight!! your fellow underweight kid from school

  3. shrecks says:

    haha.this is one place where the “previously – fatter” guy always has the last laugh.. 😛 .. but yah seriously , can u even imagine me putting on more weight ? may be you can.but i dont want to..inspiring enuf to get my inspiration levels to the tipping points..

  4. Priya says:

    1. No beautiful photos of Sweden?
    2. Congratulations again on your engagement!
    3. Are you using any app on android to track your workouts? I went through this app called “MapMyWalk” – which is nice, but not helpful in India.

    Really liking this Couch to 5k concept. I wish there was a good park near my house. Walking / Running on Bangalore roads is almost impossible.

    All the best! 🙂

    • milcom says:

      1. There are a few. Will share the link sometime!
      2. Thank you!
      3. I use Runtastic to track the runs. It tracks the route, pace etc.

      Now that I’ve moved to Bangalore, I’m trying to take the small bylanes for the runs.

Leave a Reply

