What would others think?

We are social animals, they said. Each of us cannot live in isolation and our lives are not lived by us alone, but by people surrounding us as well. That includes parents, siblings, relatives, friends, well wishers and society. All our decisions must be in the best interests of all these entities. However, to what extent?

I make a choice for my haircut, one of them would say, “What would others think?”

I choose my eating habits and one of them would say, “What would others think?”

I choose the music I listen to, and one of them would say, “What would others think?”

I choose the clothes I wear, which are decent, and one of them would say, “What would others think?”

I choose to spend my earnings, the way I wish to and one of them would say, “What would others think?”

We have become answerable, more to society than to our own conscience. Suppressing the desire to chase dreams, making sacrifices, remaining in shackles, being part of the continuum, of the rinse-repeat cycle.

To not answer the question, “What would others think?”

Getting so far wasn’t easy. It, however, didn’t involve answering that question.

About milcom
A software developer by profession, Milcom is a football lover and considers music as his religion. While he is not working, he likes reading blogs, listening to music, reading novels or simply sitting idle, in which he is a world champion.

Leave a Reply

