Concerning friendships

For the last few weeks, I’ve been pondering about the thing I miss most in life currently and have come to the realization that there has been a severe dearth of friendships.

There are colleagues, of course. The ones with whom I spend a good part of the day working on things, laughing, sharing some of the details of our lives, yet I wouldn’t call those friendships.

There are those on social media, specifically Twitter and an IRC network with whom I interact on a very regular basis. Those who share their insecurities, jokes, memes, some meaningful snapshots of their lives, wisdom etc, yet they aren’t friends.

What is a friendship then?

A friend, for me, is one with whom I don’t feel inhibited. A person with whom my deepest fears, worries, greatest joys, the falls, the highs can be shared without fear of being judged. A two way street where the person is as open around you as you are to them. Someone I can count upon and someone who will count on me when it matters. Of course, you may say that these qualify as the definition of a partner or a soulmate, but a friendship is different. They are the “3rd place that exists outside of family and work.” The layer that adds balance.

About V
A software developer by profession, Milcom is a football lover and considers music as his religion. While he is not working, he likes reading blogs, listening to music, reading novels or simply sitting idle, in which he is a world champion.

One Response to Concerning friendships

  1. Aarti says:

    A two way street..that sums it up perfectly.. have cut off people from my life cos it was just a one way street.. I would message, and they would respond..and one day I decided to stop and well, haven’t heard much from them ( except the odd Aarti is such a bitch, just cut off from me).. have also realised that my friends list has been getting smaller with every year and am happy with the ones in my life… Don’t need more..

Leave a comment